Futurising

This is a design event that was held in London, which I attended and was very happy I did. It took place on the 29th and 30th of June. I was glad I attended because I was able to meet with Industry Experts. Especially Jotta and Red Button design, also attended a design lecture by Dolly Jones, editor of Vogue.com

Red Button Design Ltd is an internationally award winning, for‐profit, social enterprise. We established in 2007 in order to design, manufacture and supply products exclusively for the humanitarian market.

The inspiration behind the company was to design instantly effective interim solutions to some of the world’s biggest problems. By doing so, we hope to mobilise the resources of international aid agencies away from ‘fire fighting’ missions long enough to implement truly sustainable infrastructure.

Accordingly, the name “Red Button Design” is derived from the idea of an ‘emergency stop button’.

I was especially interested in Red Button and went for a lecture where I asked questions such around the area of Human Factors and Research. I also decided to keep contact with the company.

