My Day on the3six5

I  didn’t see it coming.

 At first, it was the decision on what to wear. The previous day had been a bit chilly and I wasn’t quite prepared so I didn’t want to take chances this time. You know how the British weather is: suspect. Next, it was the decision of what to take along. I couldn’t decide between sheets of paper and sheets of paper. I love to write.

Five seconds into my walk to the station, I knew I had made a mistake. I was starting to roast. I am a stickler for punctuality so I couldn’t change plans or my clothing. Thankfully, I had everything I needed for the day including my earphones. I forgot them yesterday and gum-chewing people began to crawl out of the woodworks. So, when the lady beside me on the train began to chump on a large bowl of pasta, I smiled and plugged myself in.

Angel. Suddenly this station had the slowest escalator in the world. I walked as fast as my legs could carry me but circulation to my right had been cut short due to the long ride so I could only manage a limp. My first appointment had gone past the time and I was already suffering in my own private hell. I got involved in a number of activities, but soon had to leave for the next. Punctuality is still king.

Kings Cross. I was sweating like a Christmas goat. I had 20 minutes to be on time and I was stuck on the Victoria line which was held at the station due to some signalling problem. Still some minutes left! We approached my station. I got off flying. ‘Exit at South side, near Waterstones’ resounded in my head. Where is this building?! I panicked, made a frantic call, but no one picked on the other end. Soon, I found myself at the front of the building, smiled and walked in, not once did I think of Osama.

I was very late.

Someone I follow on twitter, tweeted about the3six5 some time ago, he was going to participate and I decided to do so also. I thought it was a nice project. I was given a date, 6th May 2011. I could only wonder what that day would hold, it was really something to look forward to. I wrote the above story, It is an experience of how my day went, but not all of it

🙂

About the3six5

365 days, 365 points of view.

Every day for 365 days, a different person will write an entry about their experiences that day. The key is that each post somehow relates to what’s happening in the world that day and how it relates to them. By doing so from January 1 to December 31 2011, we will have a snapshot of the entire year, told from the perspective of 365 individual voices.

 Volunteers from across the country picked a date of their choice.

To know more go to http://the3six5.posterous.com/the3six5

Leave a Reply

