All I Want For Christmas

ww1

Christmas!

There is something about this season that makes one happy, go on, admit it. In spite of the ‘commercialization’ we rightfully moan about, there is still something that drives you to smile.

Christmas time holds many great memories for me. One of them was the first time we got our Atari 2600. This was in the late 80s. One of my aunts who resided in Canada had brought it for us as a Christmas gift. That was all we could ask for at that point. We quickly mastered most of the games, from River raid to Jungle hunt. Gaming back then was a beautiful learning experience one that seems to have been forgotten in these days.

I remember a weekend ago at a cousin’s house, my little cousins were playing the new Super Mario Bros on the Wii! When I told my 4yr old cousin I wanted to play, he said, ‘it’s too hard for you!’ and they didn’t give me a chance to prove myself after I mistakenly jumped into a pit. I watched them as they frustratingly tried to play the game, stopping to watch the tutorial video built into the game. All this made me think of what we really need in these times.

I would like to see these few things in 2013, as we build games, applications and experiences;

Let Learning be fun. 

Many systems tend to make learning ‘the other’ I wrote sometime ago about this on Gamification and Learning Processes Give people the chance to pick themselves up and try again, that’s what makes people usually feel better. Holding someone’s hands is nice, but the mark of maturity is taking responsibility.

Develop good habits

One thing I think we need more of in this world is patience. It’s amazing how tech and everything has gone towards the system of ‘on demand’ needing things now, now, now. It’s sad when you see kids exhibit  impatience especially as the systems we create enhance that. They don’t want to learn to play Mario because they need to succeed, now! Imagine what it would be like when they grow up, this leads to all sorts of unnecessary stress.

I’m not talking about habit apps, because those things don’t even work for me. I think we need to create systems which nudge people to be patient. There’s the risk that they abandon your application, but I think the earlier the better. If people have spent time learning through your app, the likelihood of them leaving later on is low. This is a better experience, I find.

Whatever you do, enjoy the moment. If you can’t, help someone else enjoy the moment.

And oh yes, don’t forget to go to Winter Wonderland if you are in London.

Best of the Season to you!

Leave a Reply

