Lessons from 2012

clock

I have a thing for numbers. I don’t like odd numbers. The only odd numbers I can stand are 5s and multiples of 5. So I think there’s some hidden  meaning in numbers but can’t really remember when/how this has been formed in my mind.  The world didn’t end in 21/12/12 but some part of my world ended on 12/12/12. Pretty significant eh.

When I came into 2012, everything was dandy, it seemed like it was going to be ‘my year’ It was for a while, nothing could go wrong, it was all even. Then life happened and we all know life holds both the evens and the odds. Looking back on time spent there is always something to learn so you can close the page and move on to the next chapter of your life, here’s what I learnt.

 Solve Problems

There is a problem, a challenge everywhere, think about it enough and you will see them rise before you. Think about what makes you mad, Rage for Change is a reality, that could be where your problem solving abilities will shine. People are only going to pay attention to the things you do if you provide a solution to a problem they see or have. At work, you are paid for the problems you solve, that is where your value lies. Increase your value by solving different kinds of problems. Being a UX professional really makes this come alive for me, being able to help QA, Graphic designers, coders e.t.c do their work better is very rewarding.

Teach Others How to Solve Problems

I didn’t know how much I enjoyed teaching until I was in Uni. I did a stint teaching graphic design even though I was studying Engineering. Since then I embraced it and even enrolled as a tutor on an online service before I got my full-time job. Like the famous saying goes ‘Don’t just give a man a fish, teach him how to fish’ This is the sort of thing that contributes to a better world. When you teach, you get better at not just teaching but also at what you teach.

Go After Change

Don’t complain about things you are not willing to change. A relationship? Job? work/life balance? passions? If you want something you don’t have, you have to do something you haven’t done before and do it daily. Don’t moan if you are not willing to let go. It’s either you get out of the situation or you change the way you react to the situation. You might not be able to control or change another person, but you can control or change the way you respond.

Develop Good Habits Daily

I remember having a chat with one of my friends at work about developing a Habit App, he thought all the ones out there didn’t quite do it. I was really interested even though personally, apps like that do not do me any good. People really want to change their lives but the reality is, to succeed at a thing you have to do it everyday, every two days might even be pushing it. I’ve started on some habits and I’ve fallen by the way side, but my biggest take away is, Daily! Daily!! Daily!!!.

Embrace your difference

I’ve written about feeling like a misfit sometimes however, I realize that that is where my significance lies. If two people bring the same thing to the table, it means one is irrelevant. Faith Jegede drove the point home with her TEDTalk  “The chance for greatness, for progress and for change dies the moment we try to be like someone else.”  “The pursuit of normality is the ultimate sacrifice of potential.” I was also able to become a Top Writer on Quora, by embracing this. Good times.

Stay Passionate, Always Create.

Passionate people change their lives, they change the world one person at a time. Be a force for good, dont get passionate about bringing someone down for goodness sakes. If you are not building up, you are definitely tearing down. Be part of the solution not the solvent and be passionate about what you do, you will succeed.

Get Connected

Everything was created to be connected to something else, it is the great circle of life. You cannot do things on your own. Invest in people, give your time, volunteer, help people. Being involved with TEDxEuston was life-changing and I will do it over and over again  What you make happen for others, happens for you too. Don’t like networking? e.t.c Focus and develop the relationships that you have.

Focus Focus Focus

A vision is a powerful thing. I have been privileged to work in a company with unfaltering vision, this is what drives focus. Don’t lose sight of it, stay on track and you will go far.

Everyone Fails

This is inevitable, everyone fails at one point or the other but that is not the whole story. Broken focus leads to failure but if you are able to pick up the pieces, that is what really counts. Everyone fails, Great ones get back up. James Dyson talks about the importance of failure here

Respect Life

Laugh, Love, Live. Take a minute, ok, more than a minute to enjoy nature, humans, life.  If you asked me this time last year if I liked domestic cats, it would have been a no. I have come to appreciate the creatures though I was forced to live with one, lol. One big thing I realized was that regardless of a person’s present state, their value never changes. This is important to remember. Value life, Respect it, we will all do better because of this.

The Future is Now

I love planning for the future, making a list of things I want to happen in my life. I forget that it all starts from now. Better, I realize that if I want to see anything in my future I have to do it today, no need to wait for tomorrow, the important time is now.

Wise up

Now as we approach another year and the great big numbers continue to chase us, let us not just grow older, let’s get wiser. Remember wisdom is not in the information or knowledge that you accumulate, it is in the things you do with the information and knowledge you have.

As you would have known by now, this post has been sponsored by the number 12. Go on and have a great New Year!
Leave a Reply

