What UX do.

Wikipedia - Elvis Presley

I wrote this article, The Role of UX: Learning From Sustainability  on UX Matters before I got my last job, 16months ago. I think it is crucial for me to revisit it as I take stock of what I’ve done in those months. Some ideas and thoughts are still very crucial.

Focusing on what people do, not titles.

UX magazine recently released an article Stop Explaining UX and start doing UX which gives practical points on validating design and things UX professionals could do in ‘doing UX’. I had written in my article;

…there are a couple of things UX design professionals do agree on: design is good, design is essential, and people should benefit positively from their interaction with any design. So I began to focus on what people actually do rather than what their title says, because titles don’t get design done, people do.

So I am particularly glad that this is being rehashed in the community. I had identified four areas where a UX professional can function, as an Educator, an Innovator, Disruptor and Partner. Now looking back on my work, what have I actually done in terms of these functions.

Educating People

I had the opportunity of talking to people who were curious about UX at work. Sometimes they would ask me in the kitchen, at their desk, sometimes in the toilet! Yes I had to do a 1min UX pitch to an illustrator as we exited the Ladies!. Telling others about what my little team did was also beneficial for my team, because the better the understanding a person has of what you do, the better the collaboration. Respect, Trust follow and they really really matter.

I was also able to educate through the use of work shops. The first one I ran was with the Marketing Acquisition team, and I am certain that they left the meeting that day with more understanding of how we the UX team could help them in doing their job better at the least.

Another aspect has been in my blogging to a wider audience, my UX diary and also participating in UX camp and facilitating two talks; Developing Healthy UX Teams and 50 shades of UX, which I will blog about very soon.

Partnerships and Collaboration

Across the year, I partnered with more people than I could have imagined. I learnt from QAs, infact a whole load from QAs, getting a mentor in the process, I think I’m ready to be a Games producer! I collaborated with developers who write Python, Java..technologies I had not been involved with before. Partnered with Marketing and became bosom buddies with Customer service officers. It has been so rich and rewarding, not only do you learn about what they do and how to work with them, you see possibilities and how much what we do interlinks, gives you a new level of respect for every one else. I got to work in sustainability again. At the moment I’m exploring more partnerships and collaborations that can be fostered in the community. Watch this space 🙂

So these are the two main areas where I have functioned as a UX professional aside my regular work. I will be taking this up a notch this year, with so many opportunities arising, all I can pray for is more hours to my days!

Even if you don’t take me seriously because you don’t know me, take Elvis seriously! the guy was genius.

“A little less conversation, a little more action please
All this aggravation ain’t satisfactioning me
A little more bite and a little less bark
A little less fight and a little more spark”

-Elvis Presley

Leave a Reply

