The Tube.

image (3)

The Beginning

Victoria was my first, and as she delivered me smoothly and warmly into the red hot Central, I was already in love. The London Underground celebrates it’s 150th birthday this month. It blows my mind, my country is only 52, 99 if you push it but doesn’t function as well as the Tube.

I first came into central London from Newcastle. I got off a train at Kings Cross and made my way to the underground as directed. My friend who was supposed to be my guide couldn’t make it, so there I was at 9pm trying to make sense of several coloured lines and names that looked straight out of monopoly. Luckily, the family I came to London to see had already given me the name of their station, somewhere in the deep west. I asked a ticket officer what line I should use  and got a single ticket, ah the christening!

Our relationship hasn’t been smooth sailing all the way but I appreciate it more every single day. I also struck up friendship with the Jubilee, the Metropolitan, Bakerloo, the Overground! nice trains and oh sweet irony! I love how a huge part of the Underground is actually overground.

The Best Line

Read my answer, on Quora to what the best line on the underground is >> My answer to What is the best line on the London Underground? And why? http://qr.ae/1w7ZH

The Map

I’ve had a good time riding the tube, but as a Designer, I think the tube map is one of the best out there! Never forget that it is a map for the tube! nothing more. If you look at the tube map and a real map together, your brain may not be able to take it. I actually won a ticket to a design conference because I had sent in an entry about the tube map, saying it was real good design.  I described being a first timer in London and how easy it was for me to navigate the city as long as I knew what stop to get on and off at.

Tube Challenge

I have been on all the lines except Waterloo and City. To celebrate along, I’m going to have a conversation with this line this month. Then I can say that my relationship with the tube has been wholesome!

Tube Futures

I am working on a series of stories based on people I have encountered on my tube journeys. This project is growing small by small, but I can’t wait to present it.

Happy 150th LU!

 

UPDATE: I’ve been on the Waterloo and City Line!

Leave a Reply

